Recently on our Facebook page, we asked moms to chime in about what a typical day looks like in their home, especially on a laundry day. We're receiving fantastic responses and we hope these peeks into other mamas' lives will inspire you as much as they inspire us! We'll be posting responses throughout the year, so stay tuned! Today our featured mom is Elaine. We'll let her introduce herself... How old are you? 32 years old What did you do (from a working perspective) before your baby arrived? I'm a kinesiologist turned graphic designer. I worked as a researcher in occupational health and then as a graphic designer for a non-profit organization. Are you currently at home with your baby/children or working in/out of the home? Currently at home with children and do graphic design part-time from home. How old is your baby? Son #1: 3 years old (not in diapers) and Son #2: 19 months When did you decide to cloth diaper? The chaos and sleeplessness of having a fussy infant (we didn't figure out that he had acid reflux until he was nearly 7 months old) and also being a first time mom didn't really allow any consideration for cloth. When all this settled down, we started to look into cloth diapering. When did you start cloth diapering? Started cloth diapering when Son #1 was 10 months old. Son #2 was in cloth from birth during the day. What is your favourite diaper(s)? FuzziBunz Perfect fit, Bum Genius, Happy Heinys Tell us about your day 7:45 - 8:15 a.m. I hear Son #2 wake up. I usually give him a few minutes to roll around in his room while I roll out of bed and do some things in the bathroom. Hubby has already left for work awhile ago. 8:15 a.m. I nurse Son #2 and then change his diaper. He sleeps in a disposable diaper so that goes into the garbage and a cloth diaper goes on the bum. Son #1 usually wakes up and wanders into the room while this is happening. Son #1 uses the toilet and then we all get dressed. (I've given up on taking a shower in the morning during the week; just doesn't work well.) 8:30 a.m. We all go downstairs for breakfast and eat something simple: cereal and milk, toast, or homemade muffin. 9:15 a.m. Wait for it.... Son #2 is quite regular and I can expect a poopy diaper just after breakfast. Rather than drag him back upstairs, I usually grab the change pad and wipes from the diaper bag (which is sitting downstairs in the foyer) and change him in the living room. I let him go play again while bring the poopy diaper upstairs (where our laundry room is). Poop into the toilet (yay for the Biosoft liner!), separate pocket diaper into two, and it goes into the diaper pail which sits on top of our dryer (out of reach of curious hands). 9:30 a.m. Teeth are brushed, kitchen is clean-ish, shoes on, two diapers in the diaper bag and we usually go out to a playgroup, gym time, library storytime, run errands, visit a friend, etc. 9:30 - 11:30 a.m. We're out and about. Don't usually have to change a diaper unless we get a surprise code brown (AKA second round of poopyness). If I do have to change a diaper, I take the dirty one home in a used produce bag (we don't have a special wet bag). 11:30 a.m. Back home again. Son #1 uses the toilet if he didn't while we were out. Son #2 gets a diaper change if he didn't while we were out. Again, he gets changed in the living room and I run the soiled diaper up to the laundry room. If necessary, empty produce bag into diaper pail. 11:45 a.m. - 12:30 p.m. I nurse Son #2. I make lunch while the kids are playing (and hopefully not antagonizing each other in the living room). We eat, they go play, and I clean the kitchen. 12:30 - 1:15 p.m. Play inside or outside (weather permitting). 1:15 p.m. Son #1 gets to watch 30 minutes of a video. He has somehow associated this with eating sliced apples (some do popcorn, others like apples... who am I to complain??) and usually polishes one off. Son #2 isn't interested in TV so we play and he eats apples too. Often lunch prompts another poopy diaper. Son #2 is changed in the living room unless I go upstairs to run a load of laundry. Then I'll bring him up with me. 1:45 p.m. Stories in Son #2's room with both boys. Diaper change (upstairs) for Son #2 if it wasn't done since lunch. Nap time. 2:00 p.m. One more story in Son #1's room. Toilet. Nap time. 2:00 - 5:00 p.m. ME TIME! Both boys are usually napping for the same 3-ish hours. I work, read, start dinner, clean the house, revel in the silence, etc. 5:00 p.m. Boys wake up. I nurse Son #2. Hubby comes home sometime in the next half an hour or so. Son #1 uses the toilet. Diaper change upstairs for Son #2; diaper into pail. 5:15 p.m. We all go downstairs. Dinner is made. 5:45 - 6:30ish p.m. The whole family eats dinner. Hubby cleans the kitchen (isn't he great?). 6:30 p.m. We play, read, run errands, go to drop in ice skating or swimming, go for a walk, ride bikes, etc. Son #1 has been interested in baking lately (actually I think he's been interested in EATING the baking), so we've been doing that in the evening also. Son #2 usually has a poopy diaper after dinner. Diaper change usually takes place upstairs while other things are being done upstairs. Diaper to laundry room. 7:30 p.m. Son #2 has a snack. 7:45 p.m. Last cloth diaper of the day off and Son #2 has a bath. If it's a diaper washing day (happens every other day), diapers are dumped into the washing machine for a cold rinse cycle (no detergent). After bath, a disposable diaper goes onto Son #2 with pajamas. 8:00 p.m. Son #2 has stories, I nurse him, we sing songs, and it's bedtime. Meanwhile, Son #1 has a snack. 8:15 p.m. Cold rinse is done. Washing machine is run again for a hot wash/cold rinse with Rockin' Green detergent. Son #1 has quiet play time, usually doing puzzles or playing a game. 8:30 p.m. Son #1 has a bath and uses the toilet. 8:45 p.m. Stories and songs with Son #1. Bedtime. 9:00 p.m. Both boys are in bed! 9:00 p.m. Diapers are now clean and hung to dry. 11:00 p.m. Hubby and I go to sleep. Previous: Eucalan No Rinse Wool Wash